What did you expect?

On my way to work today, I briefly glanced at a newspaper article in one of those free newspapers that had a title along the lines of “Obama not the one?” with the little sub header mentioning the ever lowering public opinion of him according to the latest polls.

I can still remember the frenzy of the 2008 elections, and it was a frenzy I very much made a point of not participating in. Many of my friends and relatives were excited for one reason or another about the prospect of Barack Obama being elected President (because he’s Hawaiian, and a Hawaiian President was completely unprecedented). Words like “Change” and “Yes We Can” and “Holy crap Palin is functionally retarded just look at her what was McCain thinking” buzzed over, and over, and over, and over. And over and over. They just wouldn’t stop.

Through it all, I had two primary thoughts in mind. The first was that Obama was definitely going to win the election, and the second was that it wasn’t nearly as big a deal as some people thought it was.  The first thought was proved correct eventually, and while the second is purely opinion, I maintain that it is a solid one.

First of all, we elected a President, not an Autocrat. Despite the creeping expansion of Executive Branch powers over the last few decades, it’s still Congress who makes the laws and does pretty much everything. Obama’s job is to give it a face, tell us what he thinks is the best idea, and go high five other world leaders (I assume they high five each other, but I have been wrong before). Oh, and he signs bills and vetoes them sometimes. I guess. Look, this isn’t a freaking lesson on the Constitution or anything, I’m just blabbing about while I get to my point, and if you look immediately below this sentence, you will begin to see it.

My point is that while the things he said sounded wonderful and good, we should have known from the get-go that not only would Obama probably not fulfill a lot of his promises, he wasn’t even capable of seeing to a lot of them. Yes, he’s the freaking President of the United States of America, but he’s also just a freaking President of the United States of America. He’s not Jesus. He isn’t Black Jesus either (Black Jesus has a beard, for starters). Hell, he’s not even Hawaiian Jesus (note to self, research Hawaiian Jesus). He’s a man with a job that is strictly regulated by a very old document that has only been edited like 18 times in the last 200-something years (yes there are 27 amendments, but the Bill of Rights was a single package), and one of those changes was just to undo another change.

You can go ahead and say that Obama is a good guy whose policies are being obstructed by a spiteful GOP. You can also say he’s a bad guy whose policies are being obstructed by a spiteful GOP. He’s not a superman, though, either hero or villain. He’s just a guy, and if you put your faith in him and were since disappointed, you have no one but yourself to blame.

And if you still support him, well, good for you for being more decisive than I am, because it’s been how many years and I still haven’t made up my mind about the guy, and I get the feeling I’m not ever going to get the chance to grab a beer with him and chat.

Which is probably just as well, since I don’t really care for beer.

2 Responses to What did you expect?

  1. Flak says:

    How does he compare to the current alternatives? 😦

    (I’m no Obama fan, btw.)

  2. AJBulldis says:

    I like him more than the Republican candidates so far.

Leave a Reply

