Woops!

While in the shower this morning, it occurred to me that I went to bed without making a blog post! I’m not really sure how that happened, as I was even mulling over what I should actually write about. Originally, the plan was to write about karaoke, but I managed to completely forget about that as well until it was about an hour too late to get there. I’m sure you all missed me terribly, those of you who happen to both be reading this and have attended the karaoke thing last night. Rest assured that I missed you too, and regret not remembering it sooner.

Oh well, it’s not a complete bust: I did manage to get some half way decent sleep last night, and I had some fun playing computer games, though my inner consumer is beginning to demand something novel to experience. Unfortunately it’ll have to wait, because as best as I can tell nothing I really want will be out until November (Super Mario 3D Land!!!), and I don’t even know when Diablo III is coming out (though they are starting beta testing soon so I guess that is a good sign).

Going back to Super Mario 3D Land, though, this is really a game that should have been out months ago. It cannot be overstated how important it is to have a strong title to come with a new game system, whether console or portable. I waited months to get the 3DS simply because it had pretty much nothing I was interested it, and when I did finally get it (along with The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D) it was still too soon, because a couple months later they slashed the price by $80. That’s like two more games I could have bought, but wouldn’t because there’s nothing good yet. And no, Dead or Alive and Street Fighter are not good, or at least they aren’t what I actually want in a game (I actually bought Street Fighter IV for the 3DS under some insane assumption that this time I wouldn’t lose horribly at it against the easiest computer opponents). The only fighting games I could get get into were Killer Instinct and the Super Smash Bros. games, and the latter is really more of a party game than a proper fighting game.

In effect, it can be noted that I tend to make a fair number of mistakes, and furthermore that I am not the most discerning of shoppers. Then again, I’m not in debt or living above my means, so I can afford to make some poor purchasing¬†decisions. Which is to say I can literally afford it, because I have lots of money, because I am a absurdly wealthy Roman prince. Going by world standards of wealth, I’m not even exaggerating, though by strictly American standards I would be. Really, I just keep my expenses very low, so I have lots of leftover for the occasional frivolous purchase.

Speaking of frivolous, I’ve decided I’m going to get an electric bass sooner or later. Just because I think they are cool and I want one to play around on. I don’t expect to become some kind of magical bass expert or anything, but I’ve always liked them and I think it would be fun. Hopefully I’m not wrong, because I’ve kind of already made up my mind about it.

Leave a Reply

