A direction, perhaps?

As of the writing of this post, I have three malformed post drafts sitting my little draft section, waiting to either be brought fully to life or given the sweet release of a quick and painless death. Looking at the topics they are going over, it occurs to me that I am quickly becoming restless with my initial decision to make this a sort of “anything goes” blog where I simply write anything for the sake of having written something for the day. I am beginning to crave a more specific purpose for this blog, but without the constraints that come with purpose.

For example, I am not at all happy with a number of my posts that consist of me just blabbing on about what I did for the day. I have heard, or rather read, that “remember when” is the lowest form of conversation, which is to say that simply relegating past events requires the least amount of intellect. Google suggests that the phrase might come from an episode of The Sopranos, but no doubt the sentiment is far older. Regardless, it is a sentiment I am inclined to agree with. When I do end up talking or writing about my day, it’s a sign of desperation. I try to avoid it entirely when I can, or at the very least use it as a springboard to discuss the things going on beyond the events themselves, like my opinions about it and what it might mean in the context of our lives.

That’s how reviews work, after all, and that’s something I’ve been enjoying. The critic doesn’t tell you what happens in the movie beyond maybe a sentence or two that you could have figured out on your own from the trailers. I knew Apollo 18 took place on the Moon before I went to see the movie. The critic goes deeper: he talks about how convincing the actors were in their roles, how effective the direction was, the appropriateness of the dialogue, the props, the underlying music that you’re supposed to not fully notice. I wouldn’t go so far as to call myself even an amateur critic, but I think it is a worthy standard to aim towards.

So that’s one issue resolved: no more “Dear Journal” entries, and if I break that promise and do one anyways, I’ll make damn sure it goes deeper than a description of events.

Another thing that’s been bugging me pretty much from the beginning is that, despite my insistence that I am writing for myself and don’t care about the audience or lack thereof, I can’t help but ignore the possibility of being read entirely. Which means I’m censoring myself, trying to avoid writing about things that I think people wouldn’t care about. Like video games, or hell, table top games (Dungeons & Dragons is a real thing that continues to be real, by the way, with real people sitting around tables or sitting online and rolling dice and pretending they are elves and wizards and such). So I might try to talk about my actual interests more often as well, though without a new thing coming out I usually don’t have that much to say.

As for politics, most of the time my opinions are very wishy washy, and while it might be funny to write some opinions one week and write opposite ones the next, that’s not really what I’m going for here. So expect politics to say rare.

And of course there is creative writing. Still not sure where I’m going with that. Expect a bunch in November, but beyond that it’ll be pretty much limited to when I’m feeling inspired.

So it is hard to say whether I’ve actually given this blog a true direction, so much as blocked off a couple of the more well-traveled roads. I suppose it’s a start, though.

One Response to A direction, perhaps?

  1. Flak says:

    Yeaaaay november

Leave a Reply

