Running Adventures

So, as some of you may know, I joined a running growth group. If you’re unfamiliar with the term, it’s a small group. Exact same thing. If you don’t know what a small group is either, it’s a church thing, so don’t worry too much about it.

So anyways, I joined a running group, because it seemed like the thing to do. For quite a while now I’ve been meaning to get into shape. I avoid saying “get back into shape” because the truth of the matter is I haven’t been in shape since adolescence. It’s my parents fault for letting me play video games and not forcing me to do more outdoor chores. Personal responsibility for one’s own actions is for chumps, if post-modern psychology has taught me anything.

Back on topic, the first stage in my running adventure, aside from signing up for the group, was getting running shoes. Because you need a special and different kind of shoe for running than you do for other things. So I went to Foot Locker because I knew where it was and I knew it had running shoes. After a few minutes of being confused by the Kids Foot Locker signs, I ended up getting to where I needed to be. The sales representative associate person was very helpful, and no doubt pointed me in the direction of the most expensive beginner shoe in the store. And then he insisted I get special running socks as well. Two packs, in fact.

Being the savvy and discerning shopper I am, I immediately said yes to everything, and a few minutes later I was out the door with a bag of shoes and socks. It actually wasn’t all that bad, since not all that long ago I spent a good deal more money on a pair of fancy boots. Incidentally, that was the same day I went to see Dream House, which managed to be an entirely different kind of adventure.

Shoes acquired, the day quickly came when the running group would first meet. Armed with my fancy new shoes and socks and some gym shorts I bought some time ago and a Quake Con ’06 t-shirt, I made my way to the meeting place in Columbus Circle. There, a bunch of introductions and other boring things happened that aren’t terribly relevant.

Then we were off. I like to think that for the first few minutes I was actually doing pretty good, though in a shocking turn of events that could only come from a movie or something it quickly became apparent that I was the slowest runner in the entire group. Also I may not have stretched as thoroughly as I was supposed to. In my defense I’ve never really run before, and therefore had not the slightest idea what I was doing. I probably should have asked.

It wasn’t all bad, though. One of the group members saw fit to stay behind with me, turning what could have been a sad and pathetic evening into a rather pleasant jaunt through Central Park. Of course, neither of us being particularly familiar with the park, we took a wrong turn and ended up on a path that would have taken us around the entire park, instead of the 1.7 mile track we were supposed to stay on. How anyone is supposed to navigate this place I just don’t know.

Despite my earlier failings, endorphins and who knows what else eventually started kicking in, and I managed to get a good deal more running accomplished than I thought possible, though of course it was heavily punctuated with a lot of speed walking.

Overall, it managed to be a far better experience than I was counting on. I feel like this is something I can really do. So I guess I’ll keep at it for a while.

2 Responses to Running Adventures

  1. RS says:

    Super impressive! I could never do that!

Leave a Reply

