Wherein I Muse About Masochism Through The Medium Of Rapid And Sustained Leg Movement

Today was the last day of my running growth group. Do you remember that? It still exists. Or at least it did until earlier tonight. Nevertheless, despite my lack of drive in most things, I resolve to continue to punish myself with running for the foreseeable future. I’m just sick like that.

What follows is a random and perhaps incoherent listing of things that occur to me about running.

Running is both easier and harder to do than I could have ever imagined: before I started running I pictured myself collapsing in a fit of hyperventilation after about half a mile of light jogging. The reality of the situation is that I can go quite a bit further before my lungs just refuse to work properly, but at no point have I ever collapsed, and only in a few instances did I ever actually stop moving. That being said, the only thing I can think of that comes close to being as painful as forcing yourself to run is the time I got hit in the head with a rock. There is no way I could ever force myself to run on my own for more than that aforementioned half mile. Ever. Which brings me to my next point.

Some people can run alone, but I am not one of those people: while I can be very proud and independant when it comes to certain things, I am familiar with my own limitations. One of them is motivating myself to do something I’m not good at. I never would have made the progress I have made in this running group without the group in question. Despite being the slowest and least enduring runner by far in the entire group, at no point was I forced to contend with that reality on my own. I always had someone with me willing to inturrupt their own run to make sure I got the most out of mine, whether it was pushing me to run when I really didn’t want to, or just putting up with me when I refused (or just flat-out could not). I’m sure words could express what that means to me, but I have a reputation to maintain so I’m not going to try. Imagine whatever sappiness you wish; it’s probably what I’m feeling deep inside, underneath all the posturing.

Running is harder when you don’t: tonight was my first run in about a month, and pretty much every step was a reminder of that. While I did much better than I anticipated (see above about having the support of others), I am fairly sure I would have done better still if I had kept up with it over the last couple of weeks. Even some small jogs would have no doubt made a difference. Winter is getting in full swing, but I can’t let that stop me, for I must become unstoppable. A human juggernaut, as it were (suck it Marvel, I’m not giving you a cent).

I need jogging pants: this one isn’t very introspective so much as obvious. Maybe I’ll go buy them tomorrow or something.

I think that all pretty much covers it.

4 Responses to Wherein I Muse About Masochism Through The Medium Of Rapid And Sustained Leg Movement

  1. RS says:

    Another admirable achievement by Anthony! I too unfortunately know my limitations when it comes to personal motivation (particularly when it comes to exercise and writing), and although I will probably never be a running buddy (see above re: limitations), you have my full support and encouragement! I admire you for sticking it through! Please definitely keep it up, it’s not only one of the best things you can do for yourself, but it’s also a way to honor God by improving your health!

  2. Vinny Bove says:

    Love it! I’m glad that you got so much out of the group’s supportiveness, even if it did cause you to reconsider your no-sappiness policy. 🙂

    Best of luck with the juggernaut-itude, and if I see you running by in the wintertime…I’ll keep 911 on standby.

  3. gracekelle says:

    Your body is more capable than your mind thinks. Your mind is what tells you variations “it’s painful”, “I Can’t” or “I don’t want to.” Your body says otherwise. When you force your body to do something, you challenge it to become stronger. And you my friend, are stronger than when you started three months ago. Just imagine where you’ll be three months from now. So proud of you!

  4. Pingback: AJBulldis’s Top Ten Posts Of 2011 « Bulldis in a China Shop

Leave a Reply

