Shaving Adventures

So today I shaved for the first time in what might be over a week. Unlike several other occasions, the lack of shaving was not from a lack of motivation, but rather a surplus of SCIENCE. Basically, my face has been breaking out over the last several weeks more than it usually does, and I wanted to see if it had anything to do with my face feeling sensitive to the shaving experience. Rigorous observation, however, tells me this is not the case, so I decided to just go ahead and get it over with.

A part of me, however, also wanted to give the whole growing a full beard thing another shot, but after all the scruffiness and itchiness I decided that wasn’t worthwhile either. I’ve been sporting the same style of facial hair since I was 21, and now at the ripe old age of 25 I can scarsely entertain the notion of styling it any differently. Incidentally, the mustache and goatee combination is apparently called a Van Dyke beard, named for some guy named Anthony van Dyke who did fancy paintings for the King of England. So, one more person I can pretend I was named after (because Anthony is like the 10th most popular name ever or something). Prior to the Van Dyke, I just sported the goatee solo, though I’m not entirely sure when I started doing that, since I’m clean-shaven in my 19th Birthday party picture.

I guess the point I’m getting at is that a) it strikes me as interesting how facial hair can be such a personalized thing and b) I am an absurdly vain individual. The reason I don’t have a mirror in my room is because if I did I would never do anything but scrutinize my reflection.

I also like that we live in a time where things like facial hair, or hair style, or piercings, or any other thing is truly more of a matter of individual preference, rather than strong social pressures to conform to certain attributes. As for growing  a beard, I think I’ll give it another shot the next time I am stranded on a deserted island. Unless of course it is an island with a bunch of shaving gel and disposable razors. And a few mirrors, I guess.

Leave a Reply

