How To Complain Like A Man

You may read this title and think to yourself whilst stroking your beard thoughtfully “what man worthy of the noun would stoop to complaints?” And you may have a point, good sir (or bearded madam). Yet we live in a world where not all is what it should be. Work is hard, toes get stubbed and eventually one will verbalize their discontent with the immediate situation. Yet even in the negative spaces of our lives there is a right way and a wrong way. Today we explore the right way, at least as far as men are concerned (and perhaps some bearded ladies).

The first thing to keep in mind when complaining like a man is that a man goes beyond the immediate and strikes at the heart of the matter. A man does not complain “it is too loud in here”, he instead states “the music is at an unnecessary volume. Also you are speaking an awful lot for someone with so little to say.” Therefore “the herb garden is full of weeds” becomes “the boy isn’t doing his chores” and “we are out of milk” becomes “the boy isn’t doing his chores”. Here are some other examples.

“I’m cold” – Don’t touched the thermostat.
“My pants are too small” – Wife, you bought the wrong pants.
“There’s a funny smell in here” – Don’t let that damn cat inside.
“I’m too hot” – Don’t touched the thermostat.

The next important consideration when complaining with masculine vigor is that a true man takes action. Passivity is for the cat the boy keeps letting back inside. Therefore, for a complaint to truly become the complaint of a man it should ultimately become statements of intent or, if you are a man of authority, direct orders. For example, “those pants do make you look fat” could become “consider a different pair of pants” but a better option is “I’m eating your dinner for the next week”.

Finally, it is important not to make too big a deal of minor nuisances. A man who cannot tolerate minor annoyances is unfit for burning down a forest to make room for his new buffalo wrestling pit. Here are some every day scenarios you can apply to your life.

“I’m hungry” – The Man can shove it, I’m going hunting.
“I’m thirsty” – Boy, go dig an irrigation ditch.
“I almost tripped on the cat” – Wife, find a dog breeder on the World Wide Web. Something that eats cats.
“It’s too dark in here” – Boy, stop burning the forest, we’re building a new house instead.
“Too many hippies around here” – Hey, you guys ever see a dead cat?
“This dinner doesn’t taste good” – …
“This dinner seems to be made with expired meat and vegetables.” – …
“This dinner is clearly poisoned, there is a bottled labeled ‘poison’ inside my mashed potatoes.” – …
“There is a salesman at the door” – Wife, get my gun.
“There is a telemarketer on the telephone” – Wife, get my telegun.
“There are too many ads on this Internet web site” – Wife, get my gun.com.
“My wife has stolen all of my guns” – Great dinner, Wife.
“I just stubbed my toe” – This wouldn’t have happened if we didn’t have a cat.
“I am ill” – I’m fine.
“I am injured” – It’s nothing.
“I am on fire” – Don’t touch the thermostat.
“I am literally bleeding to death” – I’m good.
“Those neighbor kids are too loud” Hey, you kids ever see a dead cat?
“Our barber shop quartet is missing a baritone” – Boy, go find your sister.
“That hurt my feelings” – Wife, invite him to dinner.

Leave a Reply

